Skip to content

Mark Ravenhill, The Citizenship – Scene.

February 28, 2013

Amy carries a baby

Tom        You got the baby
Amy        She made me. Said I’d have detention for a week
Tom        That’s harsh
Amy        Totally harsh. I told her I’m not fit to be a mother, look at my arms.
You can’t be a mother when you’ve got cuts all over your arms.
Tom         And what did she say ?
Amy         Said it would take me out of myself ‐ think about another life
Tom         Bit of plastic
Amy        And now I have to write down all my thoughts and feelings in my baby diary
Tom        What you written ?
Amy        Nothing. Don’t feel anything. It doesn’t do anything. Just sits there. It’s heavy.
Tom        Let me feel
Amy       Go on then

Amy gives Tom the baby

Tom        Yeah. Really heavy

He drops the baby

Tom        Whoops
Amy        You did that on purpose
Tom        Maybe
Amy       You’re trouble
Tom       That’s right. Do you reckon it’s damaged ?
Amy        Shut up


Tom picks up the baby

Tom         No ‐ it’s fine
Amy        Don’t tell her  ‐ she’ll go mental
Tom (to baby)   You’re alright, aren’t you ? Aren’t you ?   Yes

Tom throws the baby up in the air  ­ lets it fall on the floor

Amy        You’re mad
Tom        I’m rubbish at catching. Catch it !

Tom throws the baby to Amy. She catches it

Amy        I’ll be bollocked if it’s damaged
Tom        Throw it to me. Come on

Amy throws the baby. He lets it fall to the floor again

Tom       Why can’t I catch it ?
Amy       You’re not trying.  Give it here

She goes to pick up the baby. Tom stops her

Tom       No  ‐ leave it
Amy       Why ?
Tom       Cos  I’m here. You can hold the baby later
Amy      What am I gonna write in my baby diary ?
Tom      Make it up

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

